The Junior Chamber International Nigeria, University of Ibadan (JCIN, UI) held the 2019 Fifteen Outstanding Persons Awards (FOPA) on Friday, 10th January, 2020, at the Wole Soyinka Arts Theatre. The annual event, which was instituted to reward and recognize personalities for their selfless and outstanding impacts within and outside the UI community, had the venue filled to the brim. One of the awardees, Adegboyega Ifeoluwa aka “ifesports” who emerged as the Most Outstanding Personality In Sports, is a 500 level student of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. Beating out competition from Kester Tomiwa and Oyeshina Oluwasegun (both from the Faculty of Law), he had an incredible 2019 with numerous achievements and highlights.
On January 4th, 2019, Adegboyega Ifeoluwa together with his swim partner (Obia Sunday, a 500 Level Law Student) became consulting coaches at Crawford Swimming World, a leading school in Lagos where the art of swimming is being taught as it is seen as both a survival and a relaxation skill. Here, they effectively taught about a hundred people the art of competitive and relaxation swimming within a year. He passed the baton of Unibadan Swimming Team captainship to his successor (Folorunsho Joshua, popularly known as Crusher) after a smooth and successful tenure known to have won important medals in most competitions enrolled for. He single-handedly won five (5) gold medals, four (4) silver medals and two (2) bronze medals for his faculty at the Inter-Faculty Games through swimming!
His team won two (2) silver medals at the just concluded Professor Falaye Swimming Championship which held in November. He has also been selected by Oyo State as part of the swimmers to represent the state in the upcoming 2020 National Sports Festival scheduled to hold in Edo State.
Other distinguished outstanding personalities awarded in other categories include ADEJUMO, Michael for UI personality; MC Twinkle in Entertainment; ANUSHIEM, Chidera in Campus Journalism; SOTONYE, Stephen (Tonye Photography) in Entrepreneurship; NWACHUKWU, Emmanuel in Academics; OLADEJI, Gloria (Girl Child Development Hub) for her selfless contribution to a worthy cause; ADELEKE, John Akinloye in Student leadership; ISA, Folajimi of the Alexander Brown Hall in the Hall Management; and ALIYU, Olusesi (Faculty of Education) in Faculty management.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s